>
you're reading...
Artistic, General, Home Improvement, Just for Fun, Seasonal, St. Patrick's Day

Spring projects

Since we have such strange schedules, please forgive this odd-day post. I don’t like to post on the weekends, but as I have the time (and the project to share) today seemed as good as Monday.

All four feet of the Mystery Project are done. I am now working on the tail, and will begin with the bottom half of the body. It should be pretty interesting. I have an idea of how I want it to turn out, but I don’t know if I have the skill to make sure it does. We’ll see…

In other news, Matthew brought home 20 cutouts from a framing mat. Apparently a client needed the mat replaced in his 20-picture frame. So they took a new mat and cut 20 holes. The leftovers were too small for the store to use again, so Matt got them at a reduced price and brought them to me!!!

20 pieces of matting

Naturally, I had to do something creative with them. So, I tested different mediums on the matting, and ended up drawing (and painting a few pictures). “Well,” I said to myself, “it doesn’t seem right to make these artistic things and not hang them up!” So I looked around and realized that the only place I had left to decorate (since Christmas) was the shelf we used as our faux fireplace. Thus began a project!

Flower paintings

These are what I made. The black and silver one was first, then I wanted to see it in color, so I drew that next. I found the scrap of green cloth (it is a floral print) in my scrap cloth with my sewing machine. I remembered I had a mini clay pot from when I tried to grow cone flowers from a kit in college (they died–I never did figure out why), and filled it with beans.

Spring decorations

Filling the pot
I used a floral pick from Christmas project leftovers, Christmas ribbon and floral tape. I found a felt leaf I made, and a hot glue gun.

Random supplies
So I cut a ribbon length, then looped small sections and taped them.

Blue ribbon is pretty!
Small bit of tape on the finger
Tape to the end before curling
Curl carefully, making a point at one end
Petal! Now cut it free.
Lots of petals

I trimmed those…

Trimmed the petals

…and worked on my leaf while the glue gun warmed up.

Leaf and floral tape
Tape around the leaf--that made it look nice
Finished leaf!

Next, I glued the petals and the center to the floral pick. I started with a High Temp gun, but switched to a Low Temp.

Gluing the petals was tricky and took a steady hand
All the petals are on
I put extra glue on the underside so the petals would stay
I wrapped the floral pick with the floral tape, and glued on the leaf
I sacrificed a yellow pearlesque pony bead from my collection for the center

Then, I decorated the “mantlepiece.”

Spring Decorations!

Cool! More later.

About journelise

Creative, optimistic and inquisitive, many often think I lack gravitas. Remember that discussion fosters understanding.

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.